You’re welcome to bring
someone with you

We’ll be happy to help you find solutions to reconcile work and family when you come to Bremen. If you want, our “Dual Career Welcome Service” will help your partner find suitable employment in the U Bremen Research Alliance or elsewhere. Moreover, childcare in the Alliance is generously provided for the whole year over. There is the nursery school “Uni-Kita” for infants in the age group one to three. “Entdecker-Kids” (discovery kids) caters for all children between six months and school age. And then there is the “Entdeckerhaus” (House of discovery), which is divided into two kindergarten groups and four nursery school groups. These units are backed up by an emergency childcare facility within the Alliance. We can even provide childcare during vacation time. In addition to this, you can of course take advantage of services the towns of Bremen and Bremerhaven offer newcomers to the region.

“Riding the waves”

Reefs break the momentum of monster waves. Are they also able to protect islands under conditions of climate change? Dr. Alessio Rovere is a specialist for changes in sea-level. In 2015, the Italian-born researcher spent a month on the South Sea Island of Mo'orea studying wave dynamics. Rovere leads the Bridge Research Group “Sea Level and Coastal Changes”, which spans the Leibniz Centre for Tropical Marine Research (ZMT) and the MARUM – Center for Marine Environmental Sciences at the University of Bremen. The cooperation gives him the opportunity to do research in both institutes, sharing their resources and creating synergies.

Dr. Alessio Rovere
Leibniz Center for Tropical Marine Research (ZMT) and the MARUM – Center for Marine Environmental Sciences at the University of Bremen

 

Nice to feel
so welcome

A change of domicile entails coping with lots of non-academic and everyday issues as well as building up a new social life. The team at the U Bremen Research Alliance Welcome Center offers you all the advice and assistance you need, with personal and comprehensive support from the time you arrive – regardless of whether your stay will be a short or a long one. Our internal and external partners have developed a comprehensive program of information events and services to make your move as smooth as possible. Bremen and Bremerhaven are in any case known as places where you can quickly find your way around and feel at home. You are more than welcome here!

“Ideal starting conditions”

“When I arrived from Australia with my children and Japanese wife, my German wasn’t quite so good. I was therefore especially grateful for the great support I received from the team at the Welcome Center. It made our move so much easier to handle. The whole family was made to feel at home.”

Dr. Martin Castillo
Leader of Materials Science at the ZARM – Center of Applied Space Technology and Microgravity at the University of Bremen

 

We grow with you,
and you grow with us

The U Bremen Research Alliance is able to do a lot for you. Get in touch now. Visit us here in Bremen. We would be happy to make your acquaintance.

Derk H. Schönfeld, MBA
Managing Director of the U Bremen Research Alliance

Phone +49 (421) 218 – 60019
derk.schoenfeld@vw.uni-bremen.de
bremen-research.de

“A generation partnership”

“My geochemical research projects at the Alfred Wegener Institute take me to the permafrost regions of the Arctic and the polar seas. At the same time, as a Cooperation Professor at the University of Bremen, I have the opportunity to pass on my knowledge to the next generation. The close cooperation practiced in the Alliance is something I appreciate very much.”

Prof. Dr. Gesine Mollenhauer
Professor in the Faculty of Geosciences at the University of Bremen and researcher at the Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Center for Polar and Marine Research (AWI)

Bringen Sie gerne
noch jemanden mit

Wir unterstützen Sie gerne, Arbeit und Familie unter einen großen und bequemen Hut zu bringen. Unser „Dual Career Welcome Service“ hilft Ihnen bei Bedarf dabei, für Ihre Lebenspartnerin oder Ihren Lebenspartner innerhalb oder außerhalb der U Bremen Research Alliance einen adäquaten Arbeitsplatz zu finden. Für die ganzjährige Betreuung von Kindern ist die Allianz großzügig ausgestattet. Die „Uni-Kita“ freut sich über Kinder im Alter von eins bis drei Jahren. Die „Entdecker-Kids“ widmen sich Kindern von sechs Monaten bis zum Schulbeginn. Auch das „Entdeckerhaus“ steht den Kleinen offen. Außerdem kann eine Kindernotfallbetreuung innerhalb der Allianz genutzt werden, ebenso die Ferienbetreuung der Allianz-Partner. Darüber hinaus können Sie selbstverständlich die vielfältigen Angebote und Serviceleistungen in Anspruch nehmen, die Bremen und Bremerhaven ihren Neubürgern bieten.

„Auf der Welle“

Riffe brechen die Kraft von Monsterwellen. Sind sie im Klimawandel auch noch in der Lage, Inseln zu schützen? Dr. Alessio Rovere ist Spezialist für Meeresspiegelschwankungen. 2015 hat der gebürtige Italiener einen Monat auf Moorea in der Südsee verbracht und wertvolle Erkenntnisse zur Wellendynamik gewonnen. Rovere leitet in der Allianz die Brückenarbeitsgruppe „Sea Level and Coastal Changes“ zwischen dem Leibniz-Zentrum für Marine Tropenforschung (ZMT) und dem MARUM – Zentrum für Marine Umweltwissenschaften der Universität Bremen. Die Kooperation gibt ihm die Möglichkeit, für beide Institute zu forschen, mehr Ressourcen zur Verfügung zu haben und Synergien zu nutzen.

Dr. Alessio Rovere
Leibniz-Zentrum für Marine Tropenforschung (ZMT) und MARUM – Zentrum für Marine Umweltwissenschaften der Universität Bremen

Schön, wenn man so
gut ankommt

Den Lebensmittelpunkt zu wechseln, heißt auch, viele nicht-akademische und praktische Fragen zu klären und sich ein neues soziales Umfeld aufzubauen. Das Team des U Bremen Research Alliance Welcome Centers steht Ihnen dabei mit Rat und Tat zur Seite. Hier finden Sie von Anfang an persönliche und umfassende Unterstützung – unabhängig davon, ob Ihr Wechsel dauerhaft oder befristet ist. Über unser Veranstaltungsprogramm und Serviceleistungen von internen und externen Partnern helfen wir, Ihren Start so einfach und angenehm wie möglich zu gestalten. Bremen und Bremerhaven sind ohnehin Städte, in denen man sich schnell zurechtfinden und wohlfühlen kann. Herzlich willkommen!

„Ideale Startbedingungen“

„Als ich mit meiner japanischen Frau und meinen Kindern aus Australien hier angekommen bin, war ich in der deutschen Sprache noch nicht so zu Hause. Gerade deshalb fand ich es sehr angenehm, dass das Team im Welcome Center immer ein offenes Ohr für uns hatte. Es hat uns den Start deutlich leichter gemacht. Wir fühlen uns als Familie sehr gut aufgenommen.“

Dr. Martin Castillo
Leiter Materialwissenschaften am ZARM – Zentrum für angewandte Raumfahrttechnologie und Mikrogravitation der Universität Bremen

Wir wachsen mit Ihnen,
Sie wachsen mit uns

Die U Bremen Research Alliance kann viel für Sie tun. Nehmen Sie Kontakt mit uns auf und besuchen Sie uns gerne in Bremen. Wir freuen uns darauf, Sie persönlich kennen zu lernen.  

Derk H. Schönfeld, MBA
Geschäftsführer U Bremen Research Alliance

T +49 (421) 218 – 60019
derk.schoenfeld@vw.uni-bremen.de
bremen-research.de

„Partnerschaft der Generationen“

„Meine geochemischen Forschungsprojekte am Alfred-Wegener-Institut führen mich in arktische Permafrostregionen und auf die Polarmeere. Als Kooperationsprofessorin an der Universität Bremen habe ich gleichzeitig die Möglichkeit, mein gewonnenes Wissen an die nächste Generation weiterzugeben. Die enge Zusammenarbeit in der Allianz schätze ich sehr.“  

Prof. Dr. Gesine Mollenhauer
Professorin am Fachbereich Geowissenschaften der Universität Bremen und Wissenschaftlerin am Alfred-Wegener-Institut, Helmholtz-Zentrum für Polar-und Meeresforschung (AWI)