Header From Deep Sea to Outer Space

© U Bremen Research Alliance

The University of Bremen and twelve federal and state financed non-university research institutes cooperate within the U Bremen Research Alliance. The Alliance includes research institutes of the four major German science organizations, i.e. Fraunhofer Society, Helmholtz Association, Leibniz Association and Max Planck Society, as well as the German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence.

Find out more about the U Bremen Research Alliance.

Current News from the U Bremen Research Alliance

Header From Deep Sea to Outer Space
© U Bremen Research Alliance

How to Write Competitive Proposals for Horizon Europe

The U Bremen Research Alliance and the Univerity of Bremen are hosting an online workshop on "How to Write Competitive Proposals for Horizon Europe" on Wednesday, September 21st 2022, from 09:45 a.m. – 13:00 p.m. The workshop is aimed at employees in member institutions of the U Bremen Research Alliance.

Gruppenfote des Vernetzungstreffens der NFDI-Konsortien mit Bremer Beteiligung
© Jesko Lange / NFDI4Health

"Towards One NFDI": Local Networking Meeting of NFDI Consortia with Participation from Bremen

On May 20, 2022, the first networking meeting of the NFDI consortia in which institutions from Bremen are involved took place at the Fraunhofer MEVIS in Bremen. Representatives of twelve of the 14 consortia of the 1st, 2nd and current application round exchanged information about their activities and possible cooperation, synergies and common challenges.

Our High-Profile Areas

Material Sciences and Production Engineering
© Jens Lehmkühler / U Bremen Research Alliance
Minds, Media, Machines
© DFKI, Annemarie Popp
Health Sciences
© Jens Lehmkühler / U Bremen Research Alliance

Our Activities

Image showing a data space.
© KanawatVector / iStock

Research Data and Data Science

In the lead project "Research Data Management (RDM) and Data Science", the initiatives of the members in these areas are bundled and synergy effects are used for joint activities. To meet the massive demand in science and economy, data literacy as well as competencies in research data management and data science are strengthened in the U Bremen Research Alliance. The consortia developing a National Research Data Infrastructure (NFDI), in which member institutions are involved, are offered a platform to network and their developments and services are integrated into the RDM-ecosystem in Bremen.

Wendig und schlau: Der Roboter „Donbot” ist eine Eigenentwicklung.
© Jens Lehmkühler / U Bremen Research Alliance

Artificial Intelligence

Due to the increasing digitalization, methods of Artificial intelligence (AI) have steadily gained importance. Benefiting from rapidly growing amounts of data and new dimensions in computing power, AI-based learning methods outperform traditional methods. Given this fact, Artificial Intelligence is one of the lead projects of the U Bremen Research Alliance.

Welcome Center

Welcome Center

The Welcome Center of the U Bremen Research Alliance supports researchers and their families before and during their stay in Bremen, regardless of the length of their stay or how the stay is financed.

Learn more about the Welcome Center.

Jobs and Career

Job vacancies

Scientists looking for new career opportunities will find excellent infrastructure and creative competence within the U Bremen Research Alliance. By bundling strengths and utilizing flat hierarchies, the members of the Alliance nurture an interdisciplinary culture that offers maximum freedom of scope.

Here you will find an up-to-date overview of all job vacancies in the member institutions.

Current Impressions of our Work

Header Von der Tiefsee bis ins Weltall

© U Bremen Research Alliance

In der U Bremen Research Alliance kooperieren die Universität Bremen und zwölf Institute der bund-länder-finanzierten außer­universitären Forschung. Sie umfasst Forschungs­ins­ti­tute der vier großen deutschen Wissen­schafts­orga­nisatio­nen, also Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft, Leibniz-Gemeinschaft und Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, sowie das Deutsche Forschungszentrum für Künstliche Intelligenz.

Hier erfahren Sie mehr über die U Bremen Research Alliance.

Aktuelles aus der U Bremen Research Alliance

© Universität Bremen

Bremen wird 2026 Gastgeber der IJCAI

Bremen wird 2026 Gastgeber der renommierten International Joint Conference on Artificial Intelligence (IJCAI). Durch die erfolgreiche Bewerbung der U Bremen Research Alliance und des Fachbereichs Künstliche Intelligenz der Gesellschaft für Informatik wird diese führende Fachkonferenz nach 43 Jahren wieder in Deutschland stattfinden. Hiermit empfiehlt sich Deutschland und insbesondere Bremen als exzellenter Wissenschaftsstandort für Künstliche Intelligenz.

© Greg Montani / Pixabay

How to Write Competitive Proposals for Horizon Europe

Die U Bremen Research Alliance und die Universität Bremen haben am Mittwoch, den 21. September 2022, von 09:45 bis 13:00 Uhr einen Online Workshop zum Thema "How to Write Competitive Proposals for Horizon Europe" veranstaltet. Das Angebot richtete sich an Mitarbeitende in Mitgliedseinrichtungen der U Bremen Research Alliance.

Unsere Wissen­schafts­schwer­punkte

Materialwissenschaften und ihre Technologien
© Jens Lehmkühler / U Bremen Research Alliance
Minds, Media, Machines
© DFKI, Annemarie Popp
Gesundheitswissenschaften
© Jens Lehmkühler / U Bremen Research Alliance

Unsere Aktivitäten

Image showing a data space.
© KanawatVector / iStock

Forschung­sdaten und Data Science

Im Leitprojekt "Forschungsdatenmanagement (FDM) und Data Science" werden die Initiativen der Mitglieder in diesen Bereichen gebündelt und Synergieeffekte für gemeinsame Aktivitäten genutzt. Dem starken Bedarf folgend werden Data Literacy sowie Kompetenzen in Forschungsdatenmanagement und Data Science in der U Bremen Research Alliance gestärkt. Die Konsortien zum Aufbau einer Nationalen Forschungsdateninfrastruktur (NFDI), an denen Mitgliedsinstitutionen beteiligt sind, werden vernetzt und deren Entwicklungen sowie Services im Bremer FDM-Ökosystem integriert.

Wendig und schlau: Der Roboter „Donbot” ist eine Eigenentwicklung.
© Jens Lehmkühler / U Bremen Research Alliance

Künstliche Intelligenz

Methoden der Künstlichen Intelligenz (KI) haben mit zunehmender Digitalisierung stetig an Bedeutung gewonnen. Begünstigt durch die rasant anwachsenden Datenmengen und neuen Dimensionen der Rechenleistung übertreffen KI-basierte Lernverfahren bisherige traditionelle Verfahren auf breiter Front. Vor diesem Hintergrund ist Künstliche Intelligenz eines der Leitprojekte der U Bremen Research Alliance.

Welcome Center

Welcome Center

Das Welcome Center der U Bremen Research Alliance unterstützt internationale Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler und deren Familien bei der Planung und Durchführung ihres Aufenthaltes in Bremen und Bremerhaven, unabhängig von Dauer und Finanzierung des Aufenthalts.

Hier geht’s zum Welcome Center.

Jobs und Karriere

Stellenangebote

Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler finden in der U Bremen Research Alliance sehr gute Infrastrukturen und hohe kreative Lösungskompetenz. Durch das Bündeln von Kräften, kurze Wege und die Arbeit in flachen Hierarchien schaffen die Mitglieder beste Bedingungen, um frei und hoch kooperativ zu forschen.

Hier finden Sie eine tagesaktuelle Übersicht über alle Stellenangebote in den Mitgliedseinrichtungen.

Aktuelle Einblicke in unsere Arbeit

Der digitale Planungstisch veranschaulicht die geplanten Maßnahmen und macht sie transparent.
© Jens Lehmkühler / U Bremen Research Alliance
Vorbereitungen für die Erkundungsfahrt auf der Nordsee: Mitarbeitende bereiten in Bremerhaven die Ausrüstung vor.
© Jens Lehmkühler / U Bremen Research Alliance
Forschungsbecken in der Meeresversuchsanlage des ZMT.
© Jens Lehmkühler / U Bremen Research Alliance